My life with Noofs

Tales and musings from a Newf mom

My Cooking has Gone to the Dogs

Cartoon dog with knife and fork

Image courtesy of Grant Conchrane

I feed the Noofs high-quality kibble and until recently, supplemented their dry, crunchy staple with canned dog food or dog-safe people food. My food budget in the last several months has shrunk exponentially, so I have been looking for ways to stretch my food dollar – and those of my dogs – without sacrificing quality or nutrition.

I’ve always been a label reader, and have kept my dogs on a very high-quality, low filler diet. That means no corn or wheat gluten, no soy and absolutely NO animal by-products. This food does not come cheap, especially the canned dog food when you look at caloric and nutritional density. The “ultra-premium” canned food will run between $2 and $4 per can! If I buy by the case, the cost can go down to about $1.75 per can, but is still pretty pricey. The reason this is important to me is that some dogs (mine, especially, it seems) do get bored with their food, chiefly my 140 lb male, Merlin. High quality canned dog food keeps my dogs interested in their kibble, and doesn’t make nasty with their digestive tracts.

A few months ago, I started looking at canned dog food labels from the perspective of cooking that food. As I realize that certain nutritional needs must be met, I am keeping their kibble diet untouched until I can figure out this part of it. I am in my third attempt at making “canned” dog food. The first two attempts were certainly edible, and the dogs enjoyed them immensely. However, this third try has me thinking that I am definitely on the right track.

While I am still in the development stage of this endeavor, I can say this much: Yesterday’s entire batch of “canned” dog food, which will last between two weeks and a month as a mix-in or topper, cost me less than $5 to make.

That makes me happy on so many levels. Since I have become an ambassador for AllRecipes, I find that it’s my responsibility to share my successes (and failures) when it comes to my cooking – even for the dogs. As soon as I have developed a somewhat sensible recipe, I will submit it to AllRecipes for addition to the dog food and treats collection. There aren’t enough recipes for dog-related food items in there for my satisfaction.

Oops – almost forgot the legalese:

I am an Allrecipes Allstar Brand Ambassador (a voluntary position) and am not compensated for my work with Allrecipes.com. Products received from any advertisers are only used for experience-based reviews on My life with Noofs. The reviews, content and opinions expressed in this blog are solely those of the blog author (Danielle Bingham) and are not reflected by Allrecipes.com, its advertisers or any other entity.


Allrecipes Allstars badge

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “My Cooking has Gone to the Dogs

  1. Donna Mazzenga on said:

    Like!!! Like!!! 🙂

  2. I went to the ALL RECIPES site expecting to see the third attempt at your yummy trials and saw spinach spiral type things and a photo of a yummy appetizer. That was startling to see the least. How gourmet of you!!!

    Jen, Malia and Liam

Leave a Reply

